SemiAccurate Forums  

 
Go Back   SemiAccurate Forums > Main Category > CPUs

CPUs Talk about processors and related technology

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-12-2009, 03:58 AM
y eye y eye is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 499
y eye is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Not for Sale.

Will clock better than the 955 and that's a rumor.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-12-2009, 09:25 AM
charlie charlie is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,051
charlie has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by y eye View Post
Will clock better than the 955 and that's a rumor.
The markings are way off, it looks faked. The lettering is not normal AMD, and they NEVER put black edition on the chips.

-Charlie
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-12-2009, 11:11 AM
y eye y eye is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 499
y eye is an unknown quantity at this point
Default not for sale



AMD TWKR Black hands-on

Our good friends at AMD just dropped off some fresh TWKR Black Edition Phenom II chips at our nerdery.
Goodfellas didn’t tell us much about the new mysterious part.
We’ll have to throw it in a MAINGEAR PC w/ a little bit of AOD to see what these are all about. Stay tuned. http://www.wallacesantos.com/






Edit: Tcmag is not the source of the photos. Wallace Santos is the source of the photos.
The pictures were put up today 13June09. 9:30AM MT: http://www.wallacesantos.com/
No clocking reports have been posted on the Maingear site to date.

Edit: 13June09 9:30PM MT, no Posts/Reviews/Benchmarks... http://www.maingearforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=30

Edit: 14June09 9:30PM MT, No Benchmarks No pictures from Wallace Santos.

14June09, XS has not posted any forum comments since 10:00AM. No pictures, No Benchmarks...

Last edited by y eye; 06-15-2009 at 12:01 AM. Reason: update:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-12-2009, 12:44 PM
Alexko Alexko is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 805
Alexko is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Alexko
Default

If this is anything more than a bunch of crap, it's probably just hand-picked, very expensive CPUs for extreme overclockers; in other words, nothing that really matters.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-12-2009, 01:02 PM
charlie charlie is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,051
charlie has disabled reputation
Default

The reason I don't think this is a real pic is twofold, the CPU markings are not the same format as normal ones, and they don't have needed info like the barcode and serial numbers.

The other thing is that the engineering sample parts don't say 'not for sale', they say 'not for REsale', bad grammar and incorrect wording. That said, that is a software term, the chips always say 'Engineering sample' when from Intel, AMD does not mark ES parts as such.

20 ES parts from AMD within 10 feet of me, including things put out before numbering schemes changed, and none say ES or NFR on them. That is why I think the pic is faked.

-Charlie
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-12-2009, 08:31 PM
The_Wolf_Who_Cried_Boy The_Wolf_Who_Cried_Boy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 24
The_Wolf_Who_Cried_Boy is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by charlie View Post
The reason I don't think this is a real pic is twofold, the CPU markings are not the same format as normal ones, and they don't have needed info like the barcode and serial numbers.

The other thing is that the engineering sample parts don't say 'not for sale', they say 'not for REsale', bad grammar and incorrect wording. That said, that is a software term, the chips always say 'Engineering sample' when from Intel, AMD does not mark ES parts as such.

20 ES parts from AMD within 10 feet of me, including things put out before numbering schemes changed, and none say ES or NFR on them. That is why I think the pic is faked.

-Charlie
It might be worth investigating, Sampsa and Chew are confirming these as a legitimate product in this thread at Extreme Systems, these two are among the few over there who do have credibility.

* And congratulations on the move Charlie.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-13-2009, 12:01 AM
y eye y eye is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 499
y eye is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Chew and Sampsa

In this thread at Extreme Systems Chew states that he does not have one. Sampsa does not say that he does.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-13-2009, 09:59 AM
265586888 265586888 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,522
265586888 is on a distinguished road
Default

42: The "Answer to Life, the Universe, and Everything"

[sarcasm]Well, that does explains everything...... [/sarcasm]
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-14-2009, 08:44 PM
LiamC LiamC is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 86
LiamC is on a distinguished road
Default

Hit monkeys? Publicity swine, I mean hounds? Viral marketing?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-15-2009, 02:33 PM
y eye y eye is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 499
y eye is an unknown quantity at this point
Default AMD confirms existence of TWKR CPUs

6/15/2009 by: Theo Valich - Show Me What I'm Looking For - Carolina Liar (OFFICIAL VIDEO) ...




Last edited by y eye; 06-22-2009 at 05:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SemiAccurate is a division of Stone Arch Networking Services, Inc. Copyright © 2009 Stone Arch Networking Services, Inc, all rights reserved.