SemiAccurate Forums  

 
Go Back   SemiAccurate Forums > Main Category > CPUs

CPUs Talk about processors and related technology

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 04-26-2012, 10:41 AM
Medallish's Avatar
Medallish Medallish is offline
8-bit overflow
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 586
Medallish is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrdoubleb View Post
I really want to see and official table from AMD now... this is getting really confusing. I understood the "old" E/C/A system (not saying i agreed with everything, but i could follow), but once you start to do dual core as A10, it becomes a mess. I think i need to see a table of all the Trinity models to understand their naming scheme...
There's a Dual core A10? But yeah the naming scheme is confusing, with AMD I only know it pretty well because I keep myself up to date with them, what I don't get is, can't they set a standard that's future proof.. and Logical? I remember people being confused by AMD's Performance Rating with Athlon CPU's(Like 1600+ - 3200+) atleast there was a point with them, this current thing on both sides is just a mess :P.
__________________
Desktop AMD FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz, Crosshair V Formula, Corsair 2x4Gb 1866MHz DDR3, Samsung 830 256GB SSD, Seagate 3TB 7200rpm, 2xAsus HD 7970 DCU II TOP 1100MHz/6400MHz, Corsair AX1200i.
Laptop: Asus U38N, AMD A8-4555M, 2+4GB DDR3, Samsung 830 256GB SSD.
ITX-Build:AMD A10-7850K@65W cTDP, Asrock FM2A88X-ITX+, 2x8GB G.skill Ares 2400MHz, Samsung 840 256GB SSD, XfX R9-280X, Corsair TX650W.
Quote:
Originally Posted by vain View Post
From my personal browsing experience, everyone is well endowed.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 04-26-2012, 11:10 AM
Copper's Avatar
Copper Copper is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5,160
Copper will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DanielVucetic View Post
I have a HP Pavillion G6-2020AU laptop with a AMD Trinity based APU what benchmarks would you like me to run.

Im in Australia and wont be able to do them till tomorrow morning at around 9:00 and they will be on a fresh install of Windows 7.

edit: I have attached a gpuz and cpuz screenshot

edit: grammer
Please try posting a picture of the full laptop itself, loaded with the S|A homepage and please handsign your forum nic. on paper laid on the keyboard.

(not saying there aren't some lappies floating, just want proof first before I lock down the thread)
__________________
Specialization is for insects. - Heinlein
Laugh dammit, life is too ************ed short not to laugh
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 04-26-2012, 11:19 AM
vain vain is offline
640k who needs more?
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 753
vain is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Medallish View Post
There's a Dual core A10? But yeah the naming scheme is confusing, with AMD I only know it pretty well because I keep myself up to date with them, what I don't get is, can't they set a standard that's future proof.. and Logical? I remember people being confused by AMD's Performance Rating with Athlon CPU's(Like 1600+ - 3200+) atleast there was a point with them, this current thing on both sides is just a mess :P.
Think he means 2 module, with the 2 module having 4 "cores".

The "cores" part being open for debate, which I doubt anyone wants to get into.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 04-26-2012, 11:41 AM
Kedas Kedas is offline
8-bit overflow
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 383
Kedas is on a distinguished road
Default

Just some A6-4400M general info:
http://www.cpu-world.com/news_2012/2...HP_laptop.html
__________________
"Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere."
[Albert Einstein]
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 04-26-2012, 11:49 AM
Medallish's Avatar
Medallish Medallish is offline
8-bit overflow
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 586
Medallish is on a distinguished road
Default

How do they run Turbo on a one module "CPU" The entire CPU will just burst to 3.0GHz every now and then?

Vain Oh god I hear you on that debating issue, it just seemed odd he pointed specifically to the A10, I mean if you do think that 1 Module = 1 core, then a bigger issue would be "why are all these just single and Dual cores?" :P.

Btw. from what I can see the 17W chip will be an A6, while there will be a 2xmodule A10 @ 25W which will be the A10 ULV.
__________________
Desktop AMD FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz, Crosshair V Formula, Corsair 2x4Gb 1866MHz DDR3, Samsung 830 256GB SSD, Seagate 3TB 7200rpm, 2xAsus HD 7970 DCU II TOP 1100MHz/6400MHz, Corsair AX1200i.
Laptop: Asus U38N, AMD A8-4555M, 2+4GB DDR3, Samsung 830 256GB SSD.
ITX-Build:AMD A10-7850K@65W cTDP, Asrock FM2A88X-ITX+, 2x8GB G.skill Ares 2400MHz, Samsung 840 256GB SSD, XfX R9-280X, Corsair TX650W.
Quote:
Originally Posted by vain View Post
From my personal browsing experience, everyone is well endowed.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 04-26-2012, 12:17 PM
fatty2nd fatty2nd is online now
2^10
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Bishops Waltham
Posts: 1,739
fatty2nd is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Medallish View Post
How do they run Turbo on a one module "CPU" The entire CPU will just burst to 3.0GHz every now and then?

Vain Oh god I hear you on that debating issue, it just seemed odd he pointed specifically to the A10, I mean if you do think that 1 Module = 1 core, then a bigger issue would be "why are all these just single and Dual cores?" :P.

Btw. from what I can see the 17W chip will be an A6, while there will be a 2xmodule A10 @ 25W which will be the A10 ULV.
IIRC, the turbo on Trinity is shared between the GPU and the CPU, so there will be CPU turbo for when the GPU is sitting there doing nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 04-26-2012, 12:20 PM
fatty2nd fatty2nd is online now
2^10
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Bishops Waltham
Posts: 1,739
fatty2nd is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Medallish View Post
There's a Dual core A10? But yeah the naming scheme is confusing, with AMD I only know it pretty well because I keep myself up to date with them, what I don't get is, can't they set a standard that's future proof.. and Logical? I remember people being confused by AMD's Performance Rating with Athlon CPU's(Like 1600+ - 3200+) atleast there was a point with them, this current thing on both sides is just a mess :P.
I agree the naming scheme is confusing! They were okay with A4, A6 and A8 IMO, and they could have started out with 1xxx to define the first generation and what model, but instead they have done this shadowing of Intel and trying to one up them in marketing. But now we have A10 as well? And the A10 is actually equivalent to A8 before? It's all very head scratching and none-consumer friendly; but I guess being confusing for the consumer is a good thing in some cases.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 04-26-2012, 02:45 PM
mrdoubleb mrdoubleb is offline
i386 bit
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 40
mrdoubleb is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vain View Post
Think he means 2 module, with the 2 module having 4 "cores".

The "cores" part being open for debate, which I doubt anyone wants to get into.
Well that's the thing... some sites list this APU as 2 core. I know Bulldozer/Piledriver is made up of modules, but either half these sites and webshops don't know what they are talking about (entirely possible), or AMD is mixing 1 module/2 core APUs in the A10 line.

That's why I was saying, I am dying to see an offical list of the Trinity APU family, to understand the naming scheme.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 04-26-2012, 02:50 PM
mrdoubleb mrdoubleb is offline
i386 bit
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 40
mrdoubleb is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fatty2nd View Post
I agree the naming scheme is confusing! They were okay with A4, A6 and A8 IMO, and they could have started out with 1xxx to define the first generation and what model, but instead they have done this shadowing of Intel and trying to one up them in marketing. But now we have A10 as well? And the A10 is actually equivalent to A8 before? It's all very head scratching and none-consumer friendly; but I guess being confusing for the consumer is a good thing in some cases.
Yeah, when I first heard A10, I thought they will reserve that for the 17W ultrabook thing they are coming out with, as those are probably the highest binned, best quality pieces.

To be honest, though even the A-C-E thing does not make sense. If A is the top of the line, than shouldn't C be the mid range and E the low end, single core? Or the other way around. Either way, if a laymen sees Axxxx, Cxxxx, Exxxx, I think they expect this to be sequential, like with cars. (e.g. Mercedes A class is the smallest... S class is the biggest car).
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 04-26-2012, 03:01 PM
Seronx Seronx is online now
640k who needs more?
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 665
Seronx is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrdoubleb View Post
To be honest, though even the A-C-E thing does not make sense. If A is the top of the line, than shouldn't C be the mid range and E the low end, single core? Or the other way around. Either way, if a laymen sees Axxxx, Cxxxx, Exxxx, I think they expect this to be sequential, like with cars. (e.g. Mercedes A class is the smallest... S class is the biggest car).
A = Accelerated
C = Casual
E = Essential
Z = Zablet? Zmall? Zero? Zit? Zed?

Biggest -> Smallest
(FX) A E C Z

Last edited by Seronx; 04-26-2012 at 03:02 PM. Reason: Include the FX
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SemiAccurate is a division of Stone Arch Networking Services, Inc. Copyright 2009 Stone Arch Networking Services, Inc, all rights reserved.